Board Members and Management Team


Carol Morris Dukes


Carol Morris Dukes is the founder and first president of the Lincoln Preservation Foundation. returning to lead the organization after stepping down for several years.  She organized LPF in 1999 after rapid development began to threaten the integrity of the Goose Creek Historic District.  A registered nurse, she practiced in Fairfax and Loudoun Counties while also studying archaeology at George Mason University.  She spearheaded the efforts to restore the African American Grace Methodist Episcopal Church, c1885, and is a lead in the effort to create the Grace Heritage Site. A recipient of the 2004 Balch Library’s “Loudoun History Award,” Carol has been involved with numerous projects aimed at preserving the architectural and cultural history in western Loudoun County.


Reginald "Reggie" Simms

Vice President

Reggie's professional career as a graphic artist has been showcased in many of LPF's event material.  He has donated his works of art for the benefit of the  Grace Heritage Site restoration project, and he has been a tireless advocate for the preservation of the African American story. A past recipient of the Balch Library's Loudoun History Award, Reggie is known throughout the area for his advocacy.  Mr Simms's family was part of the original Grace Church congregation in Lincoln.


Jennifer Juengling


Jennifer has a strong background in museum studies and enjoys conducting research. Jennifer is a native of New Jersey, which had one of the worst historic preservation records in the country when she was growing up. Watching local history disappear due to development led her to pursue her undergraduate degree in Historic Preservation from Goucher College in Maryland.  Over the years, she has been involved with numerous projects, including cemetery research and documentation, living history, historic house maintenance, and archival record management.  She has lived in Loudoun County since 1998, but with her passion for landscape preservation in mind, she moved onto a small Lincoln farm off of a gravel road in 2012.


Garry Smith


Garry was born and raised in Loudoun County in the Purcellville area, and attended Carver Elementary School and Loudoun Valley HS.  He is retired from the State Department, and was assigned to countries throughout the world. He worked in Africa  for 14 years before returning to Washington, DC.  An avid art collector, Garry specializes in African art. Garry volunteers at the Carver Senior Center every day and is a member of Carver Alumni Association.  He also serves on  the Board of the Friends of Grace Heritage Site. 


Jeff Jackson

Preservation Team

Jeffrey Jackson is a retired Loudoun County school educator, and a member of the Agape United Methodist Church, which had its roots in the historic Grace Methodist Episcopal Church in Lincoln, Virginia.  He is President of the Friends of Grace Multicultural Center , leading efforts to create the  Grace Heritage Site.


Carolyn Unger

Historical Research Team

Carolyn Unger is a fairly new member of the Lincoln Preservation Foundation but has had a long time interest in the Grace Church, its history and community.  She is a retired Loudoun County school teacher and had been a resident in Hamilton for over 40 years.  She is a member of Goose Creek Friends Meeting, one of the three churches in Lincoln, the others being Grace Episcopal Methodist Church and Mt. Olive Baptist Church.